So,  after only playing the demo, I feel pretty good about recommending this to everyone I know. And of course, my audience of, uh, about twelve, according to the stats.

World of Goo

World of Goo

It’s easily the most fun I’ve had with a puzzle game in the last few years, perhaps bested only by the nintendo DS version of tetris. And I’m about five levels in! With new and different kind of gooballs, made available, and a build-the-highest-tower metagame, it doesn’t look like it’s going to get monotonous any time soon, but I really can’t be sure, obviously. I’m looking forwards to finding out though.

The visuals are charming, and the sound design is excellent (although the gooballs sound an awful lot like those lizards from the first level of the second Spyro game). What I love most of all, though, is just the feel of your little slimes. It’s amazingly tactile, with your tower or bridge swaying haphazardly as you try to avoid a sawblade or drag yourself out of a ravine.

And the ESRB descriptor? Comic Mischief. Come on, that is an advert.

World of Goo is available on Steam

